2021 winners:

CAHLN Laboratorian of the Year

The Canadian Animal Health Laboratorians Network (CAHLN) awards a plaque annually to a laboratorian based on his or her noteworthy contributions to veterinary laboratory medicine in Canada. A nominee might be an outstanding diagnostician, educator, researcher, mentor of future laboratorians, or other contributor to the field.

This award is presented at the conclusion of the CAHLN Annual Meeting.

Past winners:

2022 – Dr. Moira Kerr – WCVM, Saskatoon, SK

2022 – Dr. Hélène Philibert – WCVM, Saskatoon, SK

2021 – Murray Hazlett, AHL, Guelph, ON

2019 – Carl A. Gagnon, FMV, St. Hyacinthe, QC

2018 – Yanyun Huang, PDS, Saskatoon

2017 – Doug Campbell, Guelph, ON

2016 – Alfonso Lopez, AVC (retired), UPEI, Charlottetown, PEI

2015 – James P. Goltz, NBDFA, Fredericton, NB

2014 – John Pasick, CFIA, Winnipeg, MB

2013 – Grant Maxie, U. of Guelph, Guelph, ON

2012 – Mark Swendrowski, MAFRI, Winnipeg, MB

2011 – Josepha DeLay, AHL,Guelph, ON

2010 – Ted Clark, Calgary, AB

2009 – Gerald R. Johnson, AVC, Charlottetown, PEI

2008 – W.D.G. (Bill) Yates, CFIA, Lethbridge, AB

2007 – John Fairbrother, FMV, St. Hyacinthe, QC

2006 – John Robinson, MAL, Abbotsford, BC

2005 – Marcelo Gottschalk, FMV, St. Hyacinthe, QC

2004 – Ian Barker, OVC, Guelph, ON

2003 – Lloyd Spencer, CFIA, Nepean, ON

CAHLN Graduate Student Presentation Award

A plaque is awarded annually to a graduate student based on the quality of their presentation at the CAHLN annual meeting.  Presentations are judged on the originality of the subject, contribution of the presentation to our knowledge base, the student’s understanding and delivery of the topic, and their ability to deal with questions.

This award is presented at the conclusion of the CAHLN Annual Meeting.

Past winners:

2022 – CAHLN Oral First: Darcy Sutherland – UBC, Vancouver, BC

2022 – CAHLN Oral Second: Dr. Ellen Boyd – UBC, Vancouver, BC

2022 – CAHLN Oral Third: Dr. Laurence Daigle – CDVUM, Saint-Hyacinthe, QC

2022 – CAVP Oral: Lisa Lee – WCVM

2021 – Oral: Summer Hunter, UCVM, Calgary, AB

2021 – Poster: Mike Zabroski, WCVM, Saskatoon, SK

2019 – Oral:  Christian Lalonde, FMV, St. Hyacinthe, QC

2019 – Poster: Passoret Vounba,  FMV, St. Hyacinthe,QC

2018 – Oral: Maodong Zhang, Saskatoon / Poster : Samira Yousefi, OVC, Guelph, ON

2017 – Oral: Jamie Rothenburger Guelph, ON and Ellie Milnes Toronto Zoo, ON / Poster: Corrine Schut Guelph, ON

2016 – Oral: Christina Solis Worsfold, UCVM, Calgary, AB / Poster: Iman Mehdizadh Gohari, OVC, Guelph, ON

2015 – Oral: Arinjay Banerjee, Dept. of Veterinary Microbiology, Univ of Sask / Poster: Thushari Gunawardana, Dept. of Veterinary Pathology, Univ of Sask

2014 – Cathy Bauman, OVC, Guelph, ON

2013 – Janet Sunohara-Neilson, OVC, Guelph, ON

2012 – Jason Struthers, WCVM, Saskatoon, SK

2011 – Olivier Cote, OVC, Guelph, ON

2010 – Guilherme Gomes Verocai, UCVM, Calgary, AB

2009 – Raphael Vanderstichel, AVC, Charlottetown, PEI

2008 – Angela Catford, OVC, Guelph, ON

2007 – Kathi Ellis, WCVM, Saskatoon, SK

2006 – Yuanmu Fang, WCVM, Saskatoon, SK

2005 – Guillaume Bruant, FMV, St. Hyacinthe, QC

2004 – Noel Harrington, OVC/CFIA, ON

2003 – Sherry Andrews, WCVM, Saskatoon, SK

CAHLN Graduate Student Travel Awards

Past winners:


  • Maodong Zhang, University of Saskatchewan
  • Daniel Gibson, University of Guelph